This page collects awards won by SRG students and alumni.

National Awards

CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers

The CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers Award is the premier national research award that recognized undergraduate research in Computer Science, given to students at North American universities by the Computing Research Association.

Jonathan Burket (BACS 2013, CMU PhD program), 2013 Honorable Mention
Peter Chapman (BACS 2012, CMU PhD program), 2012 Runner-Up
Jiamin Chen (BACS 2012, now at UCLA), 2012 Honorable Mention
Rachel Lathbury (BACS 2010, now at University of Pennsylvania), 2010 Honorable Mention
Adriana Felt (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012, now at Google), 2008 Finalist
Salvatore Guarnieri (BSCS 2006, now at IBM and University of Washington), 2006 Finalist
Ami Malaviya (BSCS 2005), 2005 Honorable Mention
Jonathan McCune (BSCS 2003, CMU PhD 2009), 2003 Honorable Mention

NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

The National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowships recognize outstanding graduate students and provides up to three years of funding to support a student’s graduate work (over $100,000 total). Students may apply for NSF Graduate Research Fellowships as final-year undergraduates, or in their early years in a graduate program.

Peter Chapman (BACS 2012, now at CMU), 2012
Adriana Felt (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012), 2009

Technology Review TR35

Adriana Porter Felt (top innovators under 35) (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012) [News]

NYU-Poly AT&T Best Applied Security Paper Award

The NYU-Poly AT&T Best Applied Security Paper Award recognizes the best papers on applied security in any venue.

Yan Huang, Finalist 2012 (for the paper Quid-Pro-Quo-tocols: Strengthening Semi-Honest Protocols with Dual Execution in IEEE Security and Privacy 2012, co-authored with Jonathan Katz and David Evans
Yan Huang, Finalist 2011 (for the paper Faster Secure Two-Party Computation Using Garbled Circuits in USENIX Security 2011, co-authored with David Evans, Jonathan Katz, and Lior Malka)

iDASH Secure Genome Analysis Competition

Samee Zahur, 2015 (award for fastest performance on Task 2.2, multi-party Secure Hamming Distance Calculation)

Facebook Research Fellowship

Adriana Felt (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012), 2011

Google Anita Borg Scholar

Adriana Felt (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012), 2010

USENIX Student Grant

David Larochelle, 2001 – 2002

A. G. Jordan Thesis Award (CMU)

This award from the ECE Department at Carnegie Mellon University, recognizes an outstanding Ph.D. thesis and service to the community.

Jonathan McCune (BSCS 2003, CMU PhD 2009), 2009

VISxAI Best Submission Award

Poisoning Attacks and Subpopulation Susceptibility by Evan Rose, Fnu Suya, and David Evans at the 5th Workshop on Visualization for AI Explainability, October 2022. [Tweet]

University Awards

SEAS Outstanding Student Award

The School of Engineering and Applied Science Outstanding Student Award from the Virginia Engineering Foundation is an annual school-wide award for the graduating fourth-year student who has “demonstrated outstanding academic performance, leadership and service”.

Adriana Felt (BSCS 2008, UC Berkeley PhD 2012), 2008

Louis T. Rader Graduate Research Award

This award from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering recognizes outstanding research by a Computer Engineering PhD student.

Yuchen Zhou, 2014
Karsten Nohl, 2008

Computer Science Graduate Research Award

This award from the Department of Computer Science recognizes outstanding research by a Computer Science graduate student.

Samee Zahur, 2015

Louis T. Rader Undergraduate Research Award

Jack Prescott, 2021

University of Virginia Engineering Research Symposium (UVERS)

Yan Huang, Honorable Mention, 2011
Nathanael Paul and Adriana Felt, Semi-Finalists, 2008

Undergraduate Research Symposium

Qi Wang, Finalist, Fall 2003
Chris Frost, Finalist, Spring 2003
Michael Peck, Finalist, Spring 2003

Awards to David Evans

National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2001)

National Science Foundation’s “most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.”

University Teaching Fellow (2001)

ACM Jefferson Undergraduate Teaching Award (2002)

Selected by Computer Science undergraduate students.

Harold Morton Jr. Award for Teaching (2004)

School of Engineering and Applied Science’s highest teaching award, presented at graduation.

All-University Teaching Award (2008)

One of nine awardees selected University-wide that year, and the only awardee from the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Defense Science Study Group Fellow (2008–9)

One of sixteen professors selected nationwide through a highly competitive pro- cess for a fellowship program to study national defense operations, technologies, and policies. The program involves a national competition where fellows are nominated by University leadership and selected by a panel of experts from academic and the military. Fellows undergo a security clearance and participate in a two-year program involving over twenty days of service each year to learn about and provide advice regarding national defense technology and policy issues to the Department of Defense.

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award (2009)

UVA News Article | Pictures

Virginia’s highest honor for faculty, awarded by the Governor (Tim Kaine) to ten professors each year at Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities. This award “recognizes a record that strongly reflects the mission of the institution and demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service.”

IEEE Technical Committee on Security and Privacy Award for Outstanding Community Service (2010)

Recognition for contributions as Program Co-Chair of 30th and 31st IEEE Symposia on Security and Privacy (“Oakland” conference).

Distinguished Research Award (2014)

Awarded by the University’s Vice President of Research to two recipients each year to recognize “our most promising and creative new full professors” based on “the quality, innovation, and importance of their research accomplishments at UVa and the novelty, significance, and potential impact of proposed research.”